Showing posts with label reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label reviews. Show all posts

March 26, 2017

REVIEW: The Makeup Show Orlando 2017


The Hyatt Regency Orlando on International Drive proudly hosted The Makeup Show Orlando over St. Patrick's Day weekend. Celebrating its fifth year, The Makeup Show Orlando registered thousands of attendees representing a wide range of industry professionals descending upon International Drive for a weekend of fun, education, shopping and networking. More than 75 brands were represented in rows of booths, photo ops and demonstration areas, with separate areas for dozens of seminars and presentations on a variety of topics pertaining to the art of beauty.  

March 25, 2017

REVIEW: Runaway Country 2017 at Osceola Heritage Park


St. Patrick's Day weekend saw the return of Runaway Country Music Fest to Osceola Heritage Park. This was the seventh year for the formerly-Melbourne-based event, and the second year in a row that the festival called Kissimmee home for three days of music, food, and fun of the country variety!

March 12, 2017

REVIEW: Disney's The Little Mermaid at Dr. Phillips Center

Mark and Tracy Photography
I often find myself doing things that I might not have necessarily pursued if not for being invited to review them for this site. Much to my surprise, this had led to me being introduced to many new things that I have thoroughly enjoyed, and new passions that I've enthusiastically embraced. Over the last two years, for example, I have come to love theater - especially when presented at Dr. Phillips Center. Of all the shows I've enjoyed there, The Little Mermaid was easily one of my most anticipated. Unfortunately, I have to admit that I left disappointed and underwhelmed. 

March 5, 2017

REVIEW: Main Event Entertainment at Pointe Orlando


Recently opened at Pointe Orlando on International Drive, Main Event is a 45,000 square foot, master entertainment complex, combining state-of-the-art gaming, interactive play, virtual reality, traditional games such as bowling and billiards, and an extensive food and drink menu. Though new to Orlando, Main Event is not new to the entertainment scene. The thriving national fun hub also has locations in Texas, Arizona, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, Ohio, Tennessee, Kansas, New Mexico, Kentucky and Jacksonville, Florida.

Orlando's Main Event features bowling, video games, billiards, gravity ropes, and (arguably the highlight) V Play Reality - the first free-roam, multi-player virtual reality game in the United States.

February 26, 2017

REVIEW: Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex



I tend to geek out a bit when it comes to NASA and the space program. One of my favorite memories of growing up in Texas is gawking at a visiting Space Shuttle Challenger through the chain link fence at Kelly Air Force Base in 1983. I was so little, and it seemed so huge... larger-than-life! This amazing thing I was gazing at could blast off all the way to the moon - maybe beyond - but right now, it was less than a football field away from me. This whole concept just awed and astounded me at that very young age. Truth be told, it still does! 


January 29, 2017

REVIEW: Blue Man Group at Universal Citywalk


Photo: Lindsey Best
A Blue Man Group performance is not easy to categorize. It intertwines innovation, technology, comedy, music, science, and sheer physical skill, formulating a perfectly eclectic storm of epic proportions. Obviously, this smorgasbord of amusement made Blue Man Group a natural selection when I couldn't readily narrow down my entertainment options for my birthday. They invite guests to "join the party", and on this occasion, that was exactly the suggestion I was looking for.

You couldn't have a party like this on your own accord - and if you did, you certainly wouldn't want to clean up after it! With an almost childlike curiosity, the outrageous Blue Men perform the mind-boggling feats that any parent would shudder over, and they do it with a casual ease that makes it all seem almost normal. If the Three Stooges were training for Stomp on a life-sized Spirograph, it might be almost as captivating as Blue Man Group.

January 28, 2017

Valentine's Day in Orlando


A simple little list of links to help you plan your Valentine's Day adventures. Activities, dinners, and gifts - we've got you covered!

January 15, 2017

Ringling Bros and Barnum and Bailey Presents Circus XTREME - The End of an Era


This was originally intended to be just another event review. I was fully prepared to share my thoughts on this year's performance by the famed Ringling Bros and Barnum and Bailey Circus - which skits made me squeal with delight or shudder with anxiousness, and maybe even an element or two that seemed a little "off" or lacking. While I was working on sorting out my thoughts, big news broke that genuinely demands a bit of a shift in tone from my original planned perspective. Feld Entertainment has announced that it is ending the Ringling Bros circus after 146 years.

January 8, 2017

REVIEW: Corey Smith at House of Blues


Corey Smith burst onto the country music scene in 2003 with Undertones. Thirteen years later, he's touring in support of his tenth album, While The Gettin' Is Good. On December 30, the Georgia native made his way to House of Blues at Disney Springs - a regular stop on his tour route. The performance was a fantastic representation of Smith's extensive career and overall diversity of influence.

January 2, 2017

REVIEW: Escape Room Entertainment - Orlando


The escape room craze has taken off like a rocket in Orlando, and a new game has recently come to town. Escape Room Entertainment is the nearest escape room to the Walt Disney World Resort, wisely located on Palm Parkway off 535. It's no secret that we love escape rooms. It's the one activity that our entire family genuinely enjoys, and we greatly appreciate the bonding opportunity it provides. It's essentially a heightened-reality version of family game night, and it encompasses just enough mental challenge to qualify as valuable edutainment. 

December 17, 2016

REVIEW - An American In Paris at Dr Phillips Center

An American in Paris Touring Company. Photo by Matthew Murphy. 
Inspired by the Academy Award-winning film, An American In Paris, the stage play of the same name is quickly racking up accolades of its own. An American in Paris won four 2015 Tony Awards, four Drama Desk Awards, four Outer Critics Circle Awards, the Drama League Award for Best Musical, three Fred and Adele Astaire Awards and two Theatre World Awards. The performance debuted (aptly) at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris on November 22, 2014. From December 13-18, it graced the stage of the Walt Disney Theater at Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts.

REVIEW - The Orlando Ballet Brings 'The Nutcracker' to Life at Dr. Phillips Center

Photo Courtesy: The Orlando Ballet
Tchaikovsky’s classic The Nutcracker is a longstanding holiday tradition. You know the season is officially in motion when the timeless tale makes its way to your local theater. The Orlando Ballet recently brought this cherished story vividly to life at Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts for four rapidly-selling nights. 

December 11, 2016

DRIP - Live Art Experience on International Drive


By now, you should know that our never-ending mission is to find the most unique elements that make up our amazing city. We sincerely want to ensure that you know about all of those hot spots that you may be missing on your beeline to the theme parks. For the locals, we aim to show you why it's sometimes worth it to get out there and discover the fun you may be overlooking if you avoid exploring beyond your immediate community. That is genuinely the driving force behind our original reviews, and we found a truly remarkable "hidden gem" this time - DRIP on International Drive!

November 25, 2016

IAAPA Attractions Expo 2016

WARNING: Photo-heavy post ahead!
The International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA) is "the largest international trade association for permanently located amusement facilities worldwide", and each year, IAAPA hosts three extraordinary industry trade shows - the Asian Attractions Expo, the Euro Attractions Expo, and the IAAPA Attractions Expo. The latter takes place in Orlando, which was recently announced to be the new global headquarters for the association (as of 2017). 

November 20, 2016

The Re-imagined Hemisphere Restaurant at Hyatt Regency Orlando International Airport

After an extensive, $3 million dollar renovation, the Hemisphere Restaurant is unveiling a new look as well as an updated, original menu. Located on the ninth floor of the Hyatt Regency Orlando International Airport, Hemisphere is "a place to share experiences", and exquisite culinary delights. 

November 19, 2016

Bending the Standard With Dave Damiani, Haley Reinhart, and Landau Eugene Murphy, Jr.


I have a confession to make. Though I thoroughly enjoy a broad spectrum of music, I've never really discovered a true appreciation of jazz/swing/lounge music. Over the years, I've been exposed to it a bit more. After all - I did marry an Italian, and he loves the likes of Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, etc. I've become accustomed to hearing it in the background as he sings along, but I admittedly never gave it much of a chance. 

Thanksgiving Dining in Orlando

Locals and tourists alike may be seeking a break from kitchen duties on Thanksgiving Day. Whether you're seeking a traditional spread or something unique - buffets, brunch, or dinner - Orlando has you covered with plenty of options to choose from. This is always an advisable time to avoid the theme parks (which are known to hit capacity quickly), so here's a few of our best suggestions for Thanksgiving dining options around town. 

November 7, 2016

Interview With Dave Damiani - Bringing a Little Class and Sophistication to Orlando



Dave Damiani is an American cross-genre singer based out of Los Angeles. Currently touring with his No Vacancy Orchestra, and Haley Reinhart (of Postmodern Jukebox and American Idol fame), Damiani is bringing the classy concept of "Bending the Standard" to Orlando's The Plaza Live on November 11th for one night only!

October 24, 2016

Phantasmagoria VII: The Cards They Are Dealt


They are timeless. They are flawless. They are beautiful. They are Phantasmagoria! Spinning a spellbinding web of literary genius with unparalleled theatrical flair, the band of Steampunk gypsies storm Mandell Theater at Lowndes Shakespeare Center throughout the month of October. This is the seventh installment of artfully-enhanced horror from the troupe. With their infectious techniques becoming more and more a part of Orlando's widespread autumnal culture, perhaps it should rightfully be known as "Phantober". 

October 21, 2016

Family Fun at Terror On the Lake in Clermont


Maybe you're looking for seasonal entertainment a little closer to home, or perhaps you have younger children. If you're looking for a fun, mild community event to celebrate Halloween, you may want to consider Terror On the Lake in Clermont. Located next to the Cagan Community Library on US 27, Terror On the Lake is a simple, affordable option for the whole family.

Popular Posts

More Popular Posts

ComeSeeOrlando.com: reviews